Notices
Series I Major Horsepower Upgrades This is the place to discuss Super Chargers and Turbos, Nitrous, Porting, etc
Sponsored by:

Al's Nitrous Install Thread!

Old 12-31-2008, 06:14 PM
  #26  
Registered
 
halimsteven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,401
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by alz0rz View Post
Chris sold his car a while ago

I thought the hole to route the nitrous line was already there but grommeted.. I was wrong? I was also confused about how I was gonna mount the bottle anyway...
put it in teh passanger side, as your 2nd baby kidding, there must be peeple here have some kits for trunk mount, or go online..
steven
halimsteven is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 06:43 PM
  #27  
weeeeeeeeee
iTrader: (12)
 
ShellDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Outside Philadelphia
Posts: 4,145
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
subscribed... I'll be taking the plunge with the help of Charles in the next month or so. Great stuff already... please keep the photos coming as you make progress.
ShellDude is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:53 AM
  #28  
hakuna matata!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (41)
 
alz0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,002
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Got my bottle heater today.

I'm going to just grounding it in the trunk and running the power line to the a switched +12v line I have in the trunk for my carpc, that okay Charles? This way I don't have to deal with running a switch into my cabin or anything.

Also anywhere in specific I should mount the bottle heater around the bottle? Is it okay if the heating element is going over the paper label on the bottle? Is wrapping it around the label area fine in terms of bottle position?

I'm hoping to get this finished on Sunday. Sucks I have to work the next few days and the weather is FREEZING! It's -4 with the wind chill right now, brrr.

PS: I also FINALLY got my hands on a used Mazsport Midpipe so hopefully I'll be getting it in sometime next week and that will make an even bigger difference in overall power.
alz0rz is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 11:07 AM
  #29  
weeeeeeeeee
iTrader: (12)
 
ShellDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Outside Philadelphia
Posts: 4,145
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Al, any idea of how many amps the heater pulls? Sounds like a good place for me to tie mine in as well but my little carnetix psu can't handle more than maybe 5 or 6 additional amps... I'm guessing no more than 100 watts @ 12V.
ShellDude is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:13 PM
  #30  
hakuna matata!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (41)
 
alz0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,002
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by ShellDude View Post
Al, any idea of how many amps the heater pulls? Sounds like a good place for me to tie mine in as well but my little carnetix psu can't handle more than maybe 5 or 6 additional amps... I'm guessing no more than 100 watts @ 12V.
In the paper that came with it, it said to make sure that any circuit I'm tapping into can hold an additional 15 amps.
alz0rz is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:24 PM
  #31  
Londons Yellow Peril
 
california style's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North London
Posts: 1,340
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
could you not make a bottle mount in the back of the plastic thing that goes between the rear seats?

Then you could pop it out easily for access?
california style is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:34 PM
  #32  
Misfit Moderator TnC
 
chrism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: armpit of the USA
Posts: 13,309
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Al i can show you were it was for the bottle.....and Spencers was $4 a pound when i filled it last
chrism is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:43 PM
  #33  
weeeeeeeeee
iTrader: (12)
 
ShellDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Outside Philadelphia
Posts: 4,145
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by california style View Post
could you not make a bottle mount in the back of the plastic thing that goes between the rear seats?

Then you could pop it out easily for access?
I think the bottle he's using is a bit bigger than the center cargo carrier and I suspect he already has PC crammed in there anyway.

can hold an additional 15 amps
Hells bells, so I'm either running power from the battery with a switch or upgrading my PSU.
ShellDude is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 02:24 PM
  #34  
hakuna matata!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (41)
 
alz0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,002
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
yeah, it's a 10lb bottle.. pretty big. the bottle has to be bracketed a certain way with the valve down and so that the pickup line inside the tank doesn't suck up air during acceleration.

chris - you had your bottle mounted on the frame right? upside down by where the Bose amp is? that seems like it's going to be a pita to get the bottle strapped up when it's full and 25lbs. I'm thinking of bolting it down where Charles has his for ease of access.

shelldude - I think I'm going to have to run a new switched line from the fusebox to accomdoate 15 more amps.
alz0rz is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 02:51 PM
  #35  
Misfit Moderator TnC
 
chrism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: armpit of the USA
Posts: 13,309
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wasnt so bad after a few times.....you get used to it
chrism is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 04:53 PM
  #36  
Illudium Q-36 Space Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
Kane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PCB
Posts: 6,360
Liked 28 Times in 21 Posts
Lookin Good!
Kane is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 05:10 PM
  #37  
Registered
iTrader: (2)
 
Easy_E1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bellevue WA
Posts: 7,675
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Charles R. Hill View Post
BHR may CNC something to make trunk-mounted tanks easier to install.
Planning stages right now. I need to get busy on this.
Easy_E1 is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 12:01 AM
  #38  
hakuna matata!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (41)
 
alz0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,002
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
So is the hole already in the trunk, or no?

I'm talking about this one (not my picture):


Last edited by alz0rz; 01-02-2009 at 12:10 AM.
alz0rz is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 01:11 AM
  #39  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
8 Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Aki City, Japan
Posts: 3,814
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by alz0rz View Post
So is the hole already in the trunk, or no?

I'm talking about this one (not my picture):

nope, you have to drill another hole... if you pull the liner back you'll figure it out really quick.

I have my tank mounted to the speaker shelf as well and it was a pain the first couple times but I figured out that it was a lot easier (for me at least) if I strap in the bottom first... once I figured that out, it wasnt really hard to get the tank in. I personally like the way it is now because it's there but out of the way and unless you actually look because the trunk opening doesnt really show it from a standing angle.
8 Maniac is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 01:43 AM
  #40  
Administrator
 
zoom44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: portland oregon
Posts: 21,892
Liked 76 Times in 59 Posts
Definitely matches the description i saw earlier in the APB about a missing grommet
zoom44 is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 01:49 AM
  #41  
hakuna matata!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (41)
 
alz0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,002
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I sooo wanna get this done with..
alz0rz is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 12:16 PM
  #42  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
8 Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Aki City, Japan
Posts: 3,814
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by alz0rz View Post
I sooo wanna get this done with..
depending on how good you are at these things (or how often you do them) it might seem like a pain in the *** but it's worth it lol... I couldnt drive my car for like 4 or 5 days cause I couldnt set aside enough time any one day to get enough done so it took a while lol.
8 Maniac is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:44 PM
  #43  
Misfit Moderator TnC
 
chrism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: armpit of the USA
Posts: 13,309
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Charles R. Hill View Post
That grommet looks familiar.........
doesnt it though?
chrism is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 11:39 PM
  #44  
hakuna matata!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (41)
 
alz0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,002
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by 8 Maniac View Post
depending on how good you are at these things (or how often you do them) it might seem like a pain in the *** but it's worth it lol... I couldnt drive my car for like 4 or 5 days cause I couldnt set aside enough time any one day to get enough done so it took a while lol.
Oh.. if I had the time and everything I needed over last weekend I would have done it all then. However, I did not. I couldn't source a good replacement fuel hose at any auto parts store so I bought it online and am soooo hoping it comes in tomorrow. Then I also had to work these days.

It's been good though since I've caught up on other tips and what to look for. I know exactly what I'm going to be doing when I get a chance too. Hopefully Sunday.

On top of that today I find my cars fender is dented pretty big in two places.. some ******* decided to pull a hit and run. Ugh, I hate the world. Good thing it looks like it can be easily knocked out but the paint is a bit scratched.

Last edited by alz0rz; 01-02-2009 at 11:42 PM.
alz0rz is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 01:47 AM
  #45  
hakuna matata!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (41)
 
alz0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,002
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Snug?


Last edited by alz0rz; 01-20-2010 at 09:24 PM.
alz0rz is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 12:55 PM
  #46  
Hold DSC for 7 Sec
iTrader: (1)
 
learycd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 422
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
was cutting the fuel line messy?
learycd is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 07:03 PM
  #47  
hakuna matata!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (41)
 
alz0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,002
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by learycd View Post
was cutting the fuel line messy?
Messy in what regard? I completely replaced my fuel line hose.. so my stock fuel line wasn't cut.

So today I did it all except for drilling and mounting the bottle in the trunk. Programmed the ZEX module.. however I noticed that solenoids were clicking at a tiny bit less than WOT.. is that normal? The stock rx8 ECU reports the throttle position to my obd2 scan as 0-67% (not 0-100%) and the module solenoids were clicking at 60%.. normal?

Getting the upper intake manifold off was not bad. I got scared a few times when fuel spewed everywhere while getting the stock fuel line off.. it still had a bunch of fuel in it. Then later on I found I had a fuel leak at the elbow fitting where the hose was connected to, not the side which screwed into the Tee fitting. I sealed the Tee fitting with a gasket sealer adhesive - that isn't leaking anytime soon. I used the leakage test in the rx8 service manual. It is very tight under the stock air intake box with the fuel/nitrous inlet hoses. It all fit however. One thing I will HATE doing is getting the stock airbox in and out. The BHR spacer added an inch or so, so getting that stock airbox in was a CHORE, ugh. I also broke one of the plastic elbows that hook up the vacuum hoses to the accordion tube. I routed the nitrous line under the car through the canal that is already there, as Charles has done for all his other installs. I will have to thread the hose UP into the trunk hole that I drill.. I worked backwards I know :|. I drove around hard for a bit to "pressure/leak" test the fuel line tap and stuff.. and so far no leaks.. hope it stays that way!

Getting pix up in the second and third post of this thread now, go see!!
alz0rz is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 07:10 PM
  #48  
Misfit Moderator TnC
 
chrism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: armpit of the USA
Posts: 13,309
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
very nice work Al
chrism is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 07:11 PM
  #49  
hakuna matata!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (41)
 
alz0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,002
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mad pix, yo!

Check the first few posts for all the new pics but here is how she looks now...


Last edited by alz0rz; 01-20-2010 at 09:24 PM.
alz0rz is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 07:20 PM
  #50  
Registered
iTrader: (2)
 
Easy_E1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bellevue WA
Posts: 7,675
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by alz0rz View Post

So today I did it all except for drilling and mounting the bottle in the trunk. Programmed the ZEX module.. however I noticed that solenoids were clicking at a tiny bit less than WOT.. is that normal? The stock rx8 ECU reports the throttle position to my obd2 scan as 0-67% (not 0-100%) and the module solenoids were clicking at 60%.. normal?
From my experiences it reads 67% at wide open throttle. Mine hits that number then drops a little bit to 66.8-9 %. You might try resetting it and see if it comes on more toward 67.0 %.
It's reading voltage at the TPS at that WOT point. So it just means it's reading max voltage a little sooner than WOT. Try resetting the ZEX module.
Easy_E1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Quick Reply: Al's Nitrous Install Thread!


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.