View Full Version : Looking to buy an RX-8, what's up with this one?


MikeMaj82
12-05-2004, 04:31 PM
Hey all, I've been looking at these forums for the past few months because I'm interested in buying an RX-8, probably used, in the near future. I currently drive a Cougar. Anyway, I was doing the daily search on Autotrader and came across this one: Autotrader Link (http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.jsp?car_id=174812426&dealer_id=&car_year=2004&make=MAZDA&distance=75&max_price=26000&model=RX8&end_year=2005&advcd_on=n&min_price=1&address=07407&search_type=used&advanced=n&start_year=2004&color=&cardist=14)

This seems a little fishy, it's awful cheap and has very low mileage. The usual prices I see for used RX-8s are anywhere between $22000 and $27000. What do you think I should be paying for an RX-8 with say, <15,000 miles and GT package?? Thanks!

Mike

G-ReX
12-05-2004, 04:44 PM
Almost half-price?!? Sounds very suspicious, but I can't see anything wrong from the ad. Maybe someone in the Christmas spirit? I guess it wouldn't hurt to check, but if it's as good as it sounds, it's gone. Good luck.
Oh, and check edmunds.com for pricing if you haven't yet.

bmcc49er
12-05-2004, 04:55 PM
4WD? Is the seller confused? I am calling b.s. No way someone would take a needless loss that substantial.

MikeMaj82
12-05-2004, 04:58 PM
4WD? Is the seller confused? I am calling b.s. No way someone would take a needless loss that substantial.

Yea I noticed that too, but then in the description of the car above that, it says 2 wheel drive. Weird huh?

Mike

Slims8
12-05-2004, 06:01 PM
LMAO... yeah right... Ask him if is tranny shifts! There is no reason at all to take that much of a loss on that car.

SimplexEffect
12-05-2004, 06:09 PM
Quote from his comments....

"Silver 2DR Coupe, 8000 Miles, Manual Transmission, 4WD, Excellent Condition "

This guy has no clue what this car is about.

I told him that on cardomain he posted his car and I said any Smart Person wouldnt even think to look at it twice.

So if you obviously think he is worth buying from I would have to call you stupid. :eek:

MikeMaj82
12-05-2004, 07:06 PM
ok, how about this one: Another Autotrader Link (http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.jsp?car_id=174766729&dealer_id=&car_year=2004&make=MAZDA&distance=25&max_price=20000&model=RX8&end_year=2005&advcd_on=n&min_price=1&address=07407&search_type=used&advanced=n&start_year=2004&color=&cardist=11) ??

Mike

SilverEIGHT
12-05-2004, 07:58 PM
I wouldn't call BS until I checked it out. You never know when someone is really stupid! Who knows, this could be the deal of a lifetime. He could have made an honest mistake on the "4WD". Call him!

mysql101
12-05-2004, 08:01 PM
stupid or not, the guy knows what he paid for the car and isn't going to take more of a loss on it then he needs to.

Mr. Ed's rx-8
12-05-2004, 08:38 PM
the second one looks like a payoff amount for the car.

VelociRedBeast
12-05-2004, 10:06 PM
go to his house and testdrive it..

HELAS
12-06-2004, 08:43 AM
Ya we all think it's b.s. but as mentioned above, go n check it out, You never know. or check out the car's history in the website i think it is www.carfax.com or something likr that.

you might be better off to keep looking
good luck

foxman
12-06-2004, 09:23 AM
There are tons of scams on cars now -- ebay, autotrader, etc. You can usually tell them by a super low price and an eagerness to sell now without viewing the car. If they wont let you see the car because they are busy, out of the country, etc. plus a super low price, something is wrong. If you can't see and test drive the car, stay away from these sellers.

If it sound too good to be true, it probably is.

rx8wannahave
12-06-2004, 02:39 PM
LOL, I saw this car last night and I sent 2 emails to the guy. I asked him why he was selling it for $12,000 and pointed out the 4WD thing.

Here is the funny part, I emailed myself the link and the listing via autotrader.com and they both never made it to my email????? I have not heard from the guy and as of right now the listing is GONE??? I think the guy messed up and will relist the car soon.

I did not think it was lagit...but I emailed him just in case the guy was CRAZY, DUMB, or NEEDED the $12,000 cause someone was going to break his thumbs!!! LOL