Notices
Series I Major Horsepower Upgrades This is the place to discuss Super Chargers and Turbos, Nitrous, Porting, etc

Are these Legit???

Thread Tools
 
Rate Thread
 
Old May 9, 2010 | 11:04 PM
  #1  
Coltdogg's Avatar
Thread Starter
Registered
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
From: Florida
Are these Legit???

is this turbo charger legit or a scam.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...K%3AMEWAX%3AIT

if this is real i want one haha but proably not.
Reply
Old May 9, 2010 | 11:07 PM
  #2  
nuke0907's Avatar
Never Blend In
iTrader: (2)
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,524
Likes: 5
From: Summerville, SC
no.
Reply
Old May 9, 2010 | 11:09 PM
  #3  
laythor's Avatar
I zoom therefore I am.
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,919
Likes: 12
From: San Jose, CA
at least this shows that you've done zero research on going FI with the 8.

to answer your question, it's a fake.

This would be the tip off
*Professional Installation is Highly Recommended (No Instructions Included)!!*
the price would be the first indication it was fake
Reply
Old May 9, 2010 | 11:10 PM
  #4  
DavidR's Avatar
Registered
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 199
Likes: 0
From: Houston, TX
Almost nothing on eBay is good as far as car parts is concerned
Reply
Old May 9, 2010 | 11:11 PM
  #5  
Krazed_Rx8's Avatar
Registered
iTrader: (5)
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 1,431
Likes: 1
From: Glendale, California

Cant tell if this is a serious question...
Anywho you have your answer above ^
Reply
Old May 9, 2010 | 11:14 PM
  #6  
JantzenRX-8's Avatar
Registered
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,285
Likes: 0
From: Seattle, WA
I dont know why things like this stand out to me...

KITS INCLUDE BUT NOT LIMITED TO : (





It really says "KITS INCLUDE BUT NOT LIMITED TO : ( AS SHOWN FROM PICTURE ABOVE )" but i think we should just stop at sad face and call it a day.
Reply
Old May 10, 2010 | 01:43 AM
  #7  
yiksing's Avatar
the giant tastetickles
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,758
Likes: 0
From: in the basement
Originally Posted by DavidR
Almost nothing on eBay is good as far as car parts is concerned
what about the 10 dollars oil catch can?
Reply
Old May 10, 2010 | 02:13 AM
  #8  
HomicidalApple's Avatar
Registered
iTrader: (3)
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 551
Likes: 0
From: North Hollywood, CA
holy **** that is funny. that just made my long night at work so much better.

i just imagine someone buying that and installing it... kiss the engine goodbye.

dont buy a turbo until you can afford a proper one or you will be very sad.


as for the question abuot hte $10 catch cans on ebay.

i say go for it i know plenty of people that get their catch cans on ebay. its nothing complicated and the Greddy one is just WAAAAY over priced.

but then again idk about $10, i mean maybe, all the ones i know of people buying were $20
Reply
Old May 10, 2010 | 02:26 AM
  #9  
yiksing's Avatar
the giant tastetickles
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,758
Likes: 0
From: in the basement
lol ok maybe i shouldn't be overly cheapskate with the 10 dollars ones
Reply
Old May 10, 2010 | 06:07 AM
  #10  
Twiztog43's Avatar
Registered
iTrader: (15)
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,052
Likes: 3
From: Las Vegas
Originally Posted by HomicidalApple
holy **** that is funny. that just made my long night at work so much better.

i just imagine someone buying that and installing it... kiss the engine goodbye.

dont buy a turbo until you can afford a proper one or you will be very sad.


as for the question abuot hte $10 catch cans on ebay.

i say go for it i know plenty of people that get their catch cans on ebay. its nothing complicated and the Greddy one is just WAAAAY over priced.

but then again idk about $10, i mean maybe, all the ones i know of people buying were $20
there is nothing wrong with getting a catch can from ebay. i have one! although i havent seen one for $10 shipped, i do have one for around $20 shipped from ebay. i was recommended to get it from a DIY from this forum

anyways, there are car parts that are okay to get on ebay, but some like these parts should not, especially if it is a large mod such as FI. as for suspension or part outs, those can be found on ebay for a good price as well. just stay away from BS crap like turbos/gas savers/kits from ebay and your goodl
Reply
Old May 10, 2010 | 06:56 AM
  #11  
terch1's Avatar
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,317
Likes: 2
I would only recommend buying cosmetic accessories from ebay such as a shift ****, strakes, rotary accents, etc. Absolutely nothing mechanical. In particular turbo kits.
Reply
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
hoffdaddy
New Member Forum
10
Sep 6, 2015 11:42 AM
hoffdaddy
New Member Forum
0
Aug 28, 2015 11:15 PM
Nopstnz8
Series I Wheels, Tires, Brakes & Suspension
19
Dec 6, 2008 11:32 PM
moete87
Series I Exterior Appearance and Body Kits
10
Jun 14, 2006 04:28 PM



You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 0 votes,  average.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.