RX8Club.com

RX8Club.com (https://www.rx8club.com/)
-   Series I Wheels, Tires, Brakes & Suspension (https://www.rx8club.com/series-i-wheels-tires-brakes-suspension-55/)
-   -   Rims that takes TPMS (https://www.rx8club.com/series-i-wheels-tires-brakes-suspension-55/rims-takes-tpms-22131/)

WTF no turbo 03-02-2004 09:52 AM

Rims that takes TPMS
 
Anyone want to start a list.Im getting spring fever AND I THINK ITS RIM TIME.
Im looking at
5zigen hypers
RH cx
and 2 different volks

NoVa 03-02-2004 09:53 AM

5zigen FN01R-C 18x8.5 offset of 38.....

Edit:i stand corrected ;)

Omicron 03-02-2004 10:52 AM


Originally posted by NoVa
.....If im not mistaken mostly every rim will take the tpms. They just have to be installed.
Sorry, but you are mistaken, most rims will NOT take the TPMS sensors. These are little "boxes" on the inside-wheel side of the valve stem, and the wheel needs to have either a "niche" to take it, or at least a flat enough surface that it will mount. Try to put them on incompatible wheels and they will either not mount at all, leak, or come off at speed - which would result in a rapid decompression of the tire... not a good thing.

RXhusker 03-02-2004 11:09 AM

Which of the Volks with accept the TPMS?

rx8cited 03-02-2004 11:28 AM

I bet TireRack.com can supply a list of wheels that accept the wheel units ....

mikeb 03-02-2004 06:45 PM

do the motegi dpk take them

Positron 03-02-2004 07:49 PM

I got the Mille Miglia Evo5s in 17 inch for my snows and they took the TPMS without problem. (I'm not sure this is really what you want though. But it is the start of a list.)

mm

XeRo 03-03-2004 10:48 AM

I know for sure the SF Challenges do....


Originally posted by RXhusker
Which of the Volks with accept the TPMS?

mikeb 03-04-2004 01:36 AM

motegi dpk takes them fine

rx8cited 03-04-2004 12:28 PM


Originally posted by rx8cited
I bet TireRack.com can supply a list of wheels that accept the wheel units ....
Here's some good info from Wes at http://www.tirerack.com regarding this topic:
---
Good morning!

Thanks for the email, and the opportunity to help. ALL of the wheels
that we list as a fitment for the RX-8 will take the sensor. All of
them. I stock the sensors, and can install them as part of a wheel and
tire pack with no issue.

Let me know if you need anything else, or if your buddies on the board
need anything, just give me a call or an email-Always happy to help.

With the best!

Wes Chaffee
The Tire Rack Team
800-428-8355 ext. 648
"Wes Chaffee" <[email protected]>
---

rx8cited

PS: Other than being a happy customer, I am not affiliated with TireRack.

santino 03-04-2004 01:36 PM


. I stock the sensors, and can install them as part of a wheel and
tire pack with no issue.
i wonder if the sensors that Wes the Tire Rack guy meant were the OEM sensors or another brand. I spoke to Bruce at Tire Rack--who posts frequently on the Miata Forum--and he said that the sensors that he had were another brand, and that brand would not work with be recognized by the Mazda system.

That was just before Xmas...so hopefully Tire Rack was able to stock the OEM sensors between then and the present. So, please Wes could you shed some light on this? i would be ordering new wheels from Tire Rack if this is the case.

take care


santino

rx8cited 03-04-2004 03:17 PM


Originally posted by santino
i wonder if the sensors that Wes the Tire Rack guy meant were the OEM sensors or another brand. I spoke to Bruce at Tire Rack--who posts frequently on the Miata Forum--and he said that the sensors that he had were another brand, and that brand would not work with be recognized by the Mazda system.

That was just before Xmas...so hopefully Tire Rack was able to stock the OEM sensors between then and the present. So, please Wes could you shed some light on this? i would be ordering new wheels from Tire Rack if this is the case.

take care


santino

TireRack will not provide you with sensors that don't work on an RX-8 ...... they would not be in business for very long.

To avoid commercial conflicts, Wes may not post here, so call or e-mail him and let us know what you find out.

People have ordered wheels with sensors from TireRack and they do work on the RX-8 ......

rx8cited

[email protected] 03-04-2004 04:40 PM

TPMS Sensors
 
Hi Guys!

Ok, I am braving this one. Normally I don't like to post on forums, other than those that I use personally, as I don't appreciate sales people on the forums I participate in for my own car. But, you guys did ask, so:

We do have the OE sensors, so they will work without an issue. If you do have a problem, please let me or your salesman know about it, and we will help you fix it.

The only issues of which I am aware, is one of my customers not understanding how to register the new sensors to the system. So, she call me on her mobile and I walked her through it.

Hope this helps out a bit. Give me a call or shoot me an email if you need any other information

Best!

Wes

santino 03-04-2004 06:40 PM

Thanks Wes for the quick reply. now all i have to do is choose which wheel to go with.


santino

slavearm 03-05-2004 11:24 AM

I have used C28s and TE and LE 37s

Slavearm

mikeb 03-05-2004 03:06 PM

well, one of my tires is leaking due to the tmps not fitting correctly
I'm gonna have the shop remove all four sensors
DO I need to have everything rebalanced?

slavearm 03-05-2004 03:49 PM

Definately... (spelling?) Yah you will need to get the tires rebalanced. If you look, you will probably see that the weights are placed almost directly opposite of the sensor.

Slavearm

mikeb 03-05-2004 04:28 PM

I knew you were gonna say that

rx8cited 03-05-2004 06:08 PM


Originally posted by mikeb
well, one of my tires is leaking due to the tmps not fitting correctly
I'm gonna have the shop remove all four sensors
DO I need to have everything rebalanced?


I wonder if the sensor installation instructions were followed correctly?

What kind of wheels and who put the sensors on the wheels? Feel free to PM me if you don't want to post the answer.

I guess you're prepared to deal with the flashing TPMS warning light that will happen after the sensors are removed.

Anyone know now much the sensors weigh?

rx8cited

mikeb 03-05-2004 07:37 PM

it was done by goldenwest tire in fullerton , ca on my motegi dpk
three wheels are fine but one leaks

Trx8 03-05-2004 08:08 PM

I have ASA KA3 with Mazda TPMS and they work fine. Initially one of mine also leaked. The leak was slow, maybe a few days, and on a Friday, I made an appt to have the dealer look at them on the next Monday. On Saturday the leak was fast, and Belle Tire looked at them, but couldn't fix them. They thought it was the grommet that sealed the TPMS, and didn't have any in stock. On Monday I took it in to the dealer, they said all they did was snug the TPMS nut, and that was a common reason for TPMS to leak. That was more than a month ago, and so far, no more leaks.

I didn't see mention of a grommet in the bulletin link above.

The owners manual (page 5-28) says to replace the grommet.

rx8cited 03-06-2004 07:00 AM


Originally posted by Trx8
...I didn't see mention of a grommet in the bulletin link above.

The owners manual (page 5-28) says to replace the grommet.

You're right - surprising the grommet is not in the service bulletin - I expected it would be.

In step 6 it says ".... make sure the seal is fully seated as in the figure below." I wonder if they're calling the grommet a seal here? They mentioned "TPMS valve stem seal" later in the document also.

Also, torquing the wheel nut to 62-70 in-lb per the SB is probably important to preventing leaks.

Do the sensors come with their own installation instructions and is the grommet included with the sensor I wonder?

rx8cited

Omicron 03-06-2004 02:15 PM

I think the grommets and nuts are sold separately.

Jeez, sounds like some kind of a desert. :D

MrWigggles 05-30-2004 04:05 PM

bump

A sticky about this issue would be great.

-Mr. Wigggles

Sputnik 05-31-2004 02:54 PM


Originally posted by MrWigggles
bump

A sticky about this issue would be great.

-Mr. Wigggles

I think you're right. As long as the extraneous conversations were kept out of it. I'll sticky it, and clean things up in a day or so.

---jps


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands