Notices
RX-8 Discussion General discussion about the RX-8 that doesn't fit in one of the specialty forums.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: CARiD

Scam?

Old Feb 9, 2009 | 11:03 PM
  #1  
Nima's Avatar
Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Question Scam?

Can you guys deem this not even worth it without finding out more? I would spend more but situations are not allowing me to.

http://sfbay.craigslist.org/pen/ctd/1020288222.html

http://sfbay.craigslist.org/sby/ctd/1019556049.html
Reply
Old Feb 9, 2009 | 11:13 PM
  #2  
RWagz's Avatar
Piston-free 07.11.2007
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 314
Likes: 0
From: Madison, WI
Unfortunately those are probably accurate. Depreciation is a bitch. I'd still run a carfax report on the VIN numbers to be sure they're clean.
Reply
Old Feb 9, 2009 | 11:15 PM
  #3  
Zerotide's Avatar
Snick-Snick Gearbox
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 483
Likes: 1
From: Nowhere
First one I wouldn't bother with. Its a 2004 automatic with 70k miles. Recipe for disaster imo. Second one might be a decent buy if you really don't wanna spend more than that. I would go for lower mileage even if it costs more initially. Buying a high mileage car will cost you more in the long run most of the time.
Reply
Old Feb 9, 2009 | 11:16 PM
  #4  
Ross_Dawg's Avatar
Registered Toker
iTrader: (2)
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,545
Likes: 1
From: Bend, OR
Not a scam... there's a reason the asking price is so looow
Reply
Old Feb 9, 2009 | 11:30 PM
  #5  
Nima's Avatar
Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
first one is actually a stick too. i know i realize if i couldd just spend a thousand more i could get one a lot more acceptable. Do you think 70,000 on an 8 is really just trouble?
Reply
Old Feb 9, 2009 | 11:36 PM
  #6  
alnielsen's Avatar
Registered
iTrader: (4)
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 12,255
Likes: 8
From: Buddhist Monastery, High Himalaya Mtns. of Tibet
www.nadaguides.com lists an 04 MT w/70K miles for $8,000 (for a trade-in) to $11,200 (for a clean retail price) in my area. kbb.com will list it for a little higher price traditionally.
Reply
Old Feb 9, 2009 | 11:42 PM
  #7  
Zerotide's Avatar
Snick-Snick Gearbox
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 483
Likes: 1
From: Nowhere
If the first one is a stick the pictures don't match and I would be skeptical. There are paddles on the steering wheel.
Reply
Old Feb 9, 2009 | 11:47 PM
  #8  
Nima's Avatar
Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
haha your right zero. didnt notice. kbb prices high? i always thought it priced low
Reply
Old Feb 9, 2009 | 11:56 PM
  #9  
ZachLegend's Avatar
Registered
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 895
Likes: 0
From: Orange County, California
If there's a phone number it's usually not a scam.
That price is about right, plus the color usually sells for less.
Reply
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
hoffdaddy
New Member Forum
10
Sep 6, 2015 11:42 AM
hoffdaddy
New Member Forum
0
Aug 28, 2015 11:15 PM


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 0 votes,  average.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.