View Full Version : RX-8 engine for sale on Ebay


brillo
08-10-2003, 11:04 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2427451521&category=33615#ebayphotohosting

This guy is nuts, but while he has it out, he should test it out on a brake dyno, time to see if the engine is really over rated or not....he claims to have 1,200 miles on it

skuzbucket
08-10-2003, 11:15 PM
total fake - I have a 32000+ rating on eBay and have some sway. We looked deeper into this and found him to be unreachable by any means phone or email.....

Here is my feedback for proof...

http://cgi2.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback&userid=inetdvd

Ted
Inetdvd

Titanium 6Spd GT (arrives mid September)

The Beav
08-10-2003, 11:20 PM
he has the same user name as the guy who posted (with pics) an RX-8 with a 20b in it swap

colin204
08-10-2003, 11:21 PM
The guy selling this is a forum member, see post http://www.rx8club.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7170

TJRX8
08-10-2003, 11:25 PM
This guy is on the forum and has a thread dedicated to this engine swap, even used same picture for eBay auction.

see thread here (http://www.rx8forum.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7170&perpage=15&highlight=turbo%20rx8%20for%20sale&pagenumber=3)



Edit: geez 3 posts by the time I hit submit :D

The Beav
08-10-2003, 11:26 PM
it still could be a fake impersonating the guy on our board, but i severly doubt it

colin204
08-10-2003, 11:29 PM
hey ACOSTARACING what is the reserve price on ebay?

RedRotaryRocket
08-11-2003, 12:25 AM
Originally posted by skuzbucket
I have a 32000+ rating on eBay and have some sway.

Actually, your e-bay rating means nothing.

I'm not suggesting anything about you personally skuzbucket....I only say this as a warning to you and other people who use e-bay.

I have seen cons who are running scams go from being a new user with no feedback one day, and the next day they are a star with thousands of positive feedbacks dating back months or years. I'm not sure how the scammers do it, but ebay's rating system is not secure. There are lots of people out there that know how to fabricate a good rating in a matter of hours. I'm just trying to warn everybody not to trust somebody on ebay just because they have a good rating....it's easily faked. Whenever you buy ANYTHING on ebay, make sure you cover your ass by using escrow or some other safe method of payment.

That was totally off topic, so to make this on topic, I think somebody better jump on this engine. Personally, I'd love to put it in my Datsun 510, but I don't have the time or place for a project like that right now.

skuzbucket
08-11-2003, 08:43 AM
RedRotaryRocket...

You wanna know how that is done?

First - open an account with a name that you want to use such as

RedRotaryRocket

Next - hack an account with a large rating on it (1000+ or so). All you need is the password since you have the username...

Next - Change the name of the account you created (RedRotaryRocket) to something else - doesn't matter at this point.

Last - Change the name of the hacked account to RedRotaryRocket and change the password to something only you know.

Now - you have a huge feedback rating and you look to be a legitimate eay user.....

You can not "hack" eBay internal systems. Yes - there are som loops holes in the system, but creating fake feedback on the eBay.com website itself is impossible.

As for the Renesis - I feel sorry for the porr sucker that send moenty to the auctioneer - he will not be able to put gas in His RX-8 for a time while he sits on his hands and wallet.....

Ted

rx7gslse
08-11-2003, 04:23 PM
his asking price was posted in this thread when I was asking about it..

http://www.rx8forum.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7170

Shocka
08-11-2003, 04:32 PM
hmm will it fit into a civic.. hehehe

ACOSTARACING
08-12-2003, 02:43 PM
I am selling my engine on ebay, And no i'm not nuts, i just dont need it. my reserve on ebay is 5000, and the engine comes with intake, header t/b clutch, and flywheel. AND YES it does have 1200 miles. And hehe I'm not a fake like you guys wrote. You are all welcome to the shop if you want to see it. Pm me for more detail

OneEvilRx8
08-12-2003, 06:18 PM
HE IS RIGHT, ACAOSTA RACING IS NOT A BULLSH*TER, THE ENGINE IS IN THE SHOP, I SOLD THEM THE CAR NEW, AND I'M LOOKING AFTER THE PROJECT, HE IS RIGHT IT ONLY HAS, 1,200 MILES AND THE ENGINE WAS NOT ABUSE, AND FOR THOSE THAT HAS STUP*D COMMENDS, THIS GUYS IS REAL, AND THEY KNOW THEIR SH*T....


Evil.....

Strider
08-13-2003, 09:34 AM
hmm will it fit into a civic.. hehehe

That's what I'm talking about right there :D .

rx-7~rx-8
08-13-2003, 10:14 AM
this guy is on this forum.. and he really does have a 20bl, and is plannin to turbo it. His not bs...
go to tech garage..