Notices
RX-8 Discussion General discussion about the RX-8 that doesn't fit in one of the specialty forums.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: CARiD

RX-8 for $11K on eBay?

Thread Tools
 
Rate Thread
 
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 07:37 PM
  #1  
I, Claudius's Avatar
Thread Starter
moved away
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 209
Likes: 0
From: undisclosed location
RX-8 for $11K on eBay?

What am I missing here?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...tem=2462366259
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 07:48 PM
  #2  
MelissaJax's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
From: Dexter, MI
It looks very suspicious to me. The ad itself is poor quality for a dealer. Why is there no warranty? The full factory warranty transfers to a new owner. I scanned prior sales for this guy, and he's never sold anything big before. I suspect a scam.

Melissa in MI
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 07:48 PM
  #3  
ByeByeSaturn's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 175
Likes: 0
From: Los Angeles
It's a starting bid, kept low to generate interest. What you don't see is his/her reserve price - i.e., the minimum bid price that will make for a sale.
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 07:50 PM
  #4  
MelissaJax's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
From: Dexter, MI
Originally posted by ByeByeSaturn
It's a starting bid, kept low to generate interest. What you don't see is his/her reserve price - i.e., the minimum bid price that will make for a sale.
Not in this case. His BuyItNow is $10500. At that price, if I could see the car in person and get a clear CarFax, I'd be at the door in the morning, cash in hand.
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 07:52 PM
  #5  
Sue Esponte's Avatar
Grand Poobah
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 398
Likes: 0
From: New England
Yeah, but eBay usually says "reserve not met" when there's a reserve. Do they also have an option for a hidden reserve? I've bought through eBay a few times but haven't really sold anything through them in ages.

-Eric
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 07:55 PM
  #6  
RotaryX's Avatar
Registered
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
From: Temple Hills, MD
Yeah, and it has a buy now of $10,500. Something smells.
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 07:56 PM
  #7  
Speed-ER doc's Avatar
yes, I bite
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 796
Likes: 0
Angry wife whose cheating husband is out of town again?
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:00 PM
  #8  
Trx8's Avatar
Is Scarce
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 214
Likes: 0
From: Ann Arbor, MI
It appears to be a "used" AT RX-8 for $10,500?
- 90 miles
- No warranty
- This appears to be the same car for $29,551
http://www.ebizautos.com/jimellis/detail.cfm?iid=166426

I don't know how ebay prices, offers, "Buy It Now", etc works.
On the Jim Ellis page it says warranty available.

I guess this answers the previous post:
RX-8 Discussion > What is your RX-8's value now ?

Last edited by Trx8; Feb 22, 2004 at 08:10 PM.
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:04 PM
  #9  
93rdcurrent's Avatar
The Stickinator
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,328
Likes: 0
From: Portland, OR.
I don't see that there is a reserve price and it only has 90 miles. Up top it has listed in the description that it is an auto but in the pic and in the description below it states that it is a manual. In the description you have to be an approved buyer to bid. I am guessing that you would have to give out your personal information to a person that may or may not represent the dealership in the background of the pic. It could be legit but it may not be either. I don't see that you can buy it through PayPal which would be a great protection on such a large purchase. I wouldn't bid... but then wait I have a M/T GT with Nav. What would I want with the Auto?
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:06 PM
  #10  
RX8_GT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 414
Likes: 0
From: Indiana
I think the car is in front of one of the Jim Ellis dealership in MARIETTA, GEORGIA . I ran a search on the dealer name on Mazda USA site. Anyone near there? I note bidder must be preapproved - ? marketting trick. Bait and switch ?

John
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:07 PM
  #11  
D MENAC 7's Avatar
Moderator with a mycocardium
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,599
Likes: 2
From: Springfield, IL
I smell fish.

At top description:
Mazda : RX-8
2004 Mazda RX-8

Miles: 90 Doors: 2 doors
Transmission: Automatic Interior: Brown
Engine: Don't Know Year: 2004
Warranty: No VIN Number: JM1FE173040111672
Get the Vehicle History Report
Title: Clear Exterior: Other Color
Condition: Used

At the bottom description

Mileage 90
Exterior Color Titanium
Interior Color Brown
Body Style Coupe
Doors Two Door
Engine Rotary Engine
Trans. Manual
Fuel Type Gasoline
Drive Type 2 wheel drive

VIN JM1FE173040111672

Vehicle Condition

BRAND NEW

READY TO RIDE.

Mafor descrepencies: Used at top description, New at bottom. Automatic at top description, manual at bottom.

Also, you cannot bid on it unless:

Note: This listing is restricted to pre-approved bidders or buyers only.

Email the seller to be placed on the pre-approved bidder/buyer list.
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:08 PM
  #12  
Outlaws eXtreme's Avatar
2010 Prius - Miss the 8
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,676
Likes: 1
From: LA/SGV...Miss the OC
It might be a mistaken post.. he probably meant 20k? Because as of right now, the person with 217 100% rating is offering this RX-8 with 90miles for only 10k... what a crazy steal. If nothing is wrong with this car, that is a "BUY NOW" indeed.
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:10 PM
  #13  
Sea Ray's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 730
Likes: 0
From: Nicholasville, Ky
The dealer is Jim Ellis in Atlanta area, I found the car listed on the web site and the internet price is $29,995. Sounds like just a slimy sales gimmick to get you in the door. The auction will not allow you to bid unless you are approved, approved to be a genuine sucker
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:13 PM
  #14  
Outlaws eXtreme's Avatar
2010 Prius - Miss the 8
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,676
Likes: 1
From: LA/SGV...Miss the OC
Could be fishy since you can't even bid on it unless you are pre-approved.. I just tried buying it with BUY NOW.

Also notice the two VIN #'s are the same... hmm.. maybe calling Jim's lot should solve this quandry...
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:14 PM
  #15  
RX8_GT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 414
Likes: 0
From: Indiana
If it walks like a duck - looks like a duck - sounds like a duck - it's probably a duck. It's a scheme IMHO John\

PS Have bought 8 cars for family and myself via Ebay and this is one of the strangest ads I've seen.
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:16 PM
  #16  
RX8_GT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 414
Likes: 0
From: Indiana
I think Ebay should be notified about this - it cannot be not on the up and up. John
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:17 PM
  #17  
93rdcurrent's Avatar
The Stickinator
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,328
Likes: 0
From: Portland, OR.
E-Bay hates sellers who do these kinds of tricks maybe this is one to report.

Hey we posted the same thought at the same time. Jinks you owe me a coke.
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:24 PM
  #18  
SCiMMiA's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 133
Likes: 0
From: GA
That is the dealership at which I bought my 8. The seller is not a dealer - just look at his feedback history: no cars. Top says auto, lower box says MT. This is a trick.
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:29 PM
  #19  
RX8_GT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 414
Likes: 0
From: Indiana
Have reported ad to eBay as suspicious - we'll see. If real I'm off to GA. John
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:29 PM
  #20  
93rdcurrent's Avatar
The Stickinator
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,328
Likes: 0
From: Portland, OR.
I let ebay know about my concerns.
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:38 PM
  #21  
Monique's Avatar
Fast girls don't lift!
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 275
Likes: 0
From: Harvey, LA
Originally posted by Speed-ER doc
Angry wife whose cheating husband is out of town again?

LMAO
Reply
Old Feb 22, 2004 | 08:38 PM
  #22  
SCiMMiA's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 133
Likes: 0
From: GA
Ya'll need to get out of each others' heads.
Reply
Old Feb 23, 2004 | 08:54 AM
  #23  
I, Claudius's Avatar
Thread Starter
moved away
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 209
Likes: 0
From: undisclosed location
As of this morning (Monday, 9AM) I get the following message when I try to access our $10.5K 8 on eBay: "The item you requested (2462366259) is invalid, still pending, or no longer in our database. Please check the number and try again. If this message persists, the item has either not started and is not yet available for viewing, or has expired and is no longer available." I'd love to know the whole story on this one.
Reply
Old Feb 23, 2004 | 09:41 AM
  #24  
adrian-1's Avatar
Ex- member.
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,694
Likes: 1
From: Austin, TX
That's what an auction says when Ebay pulls it. Definitely a scam. Probably won't ever know the whole story.
Reply
Old Feb 23, 2004 | 10:14 AM
  #25  
emailists's Avatar
Registered
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 446
Likes: 0
From: NY NY
I just had my auction for a 1 terabyte raid pulled from ebay this morning becuase I wanted the buyer to pay the paypal fees if they decided to use a credit card. Whoops! They suggested using a discount for not using credit cards- but you can't add a fee.
Reply


You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 0 votes,  average.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.